48 fps and 3D - is it necessary?

+4
Pettytyrant101
Saradoc
Eldorion
Kafria
8 posters

Go down

48 fps and 3D - is it necessary? Empty 48 fps and 3D - is it necessary?

Post by Kafria Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:01 pm

Following PJ's article about the filming in 3D with 48fps I wondered what peoples thoughts are on this and if it will amke a big difference!

I have to say I have no knowledge of the tech side of films, have never seen a 3D release and have one small screen tv and no intention of getting a monster flat screen and hd anytime soon. These discussions always set me wondering, does it really make a difference to the experience (and yes I do agree simply being in the cinema with the big screen has a big impact on your viewing experience).

The bit that particularly confused me was the talk of cinemas may have 48fps capability by the release date, what happens if they don't?

'A novel is a long piece of prose with ,in the eyes of the author at least, something wrong with it - Neil Gaiman, intro to American gods
Kafria
Kafria
Lady of Dale

Back to top Go down

48 fps and 3D - is it necessary? Empty Re: 48 fps and 3D - is it necessary?

Post by Eldorion Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:11 pm

3D has always been a let down for me, except for IMAX 3D, but I suspect that has more to do with the IMAX technology, which looks great no matter how many dimensions it is projected in. As for filming in 48 fps, I'm really not at all familiar with that aspect of filming. I assume that if there aren't enough theatres with that capability in time they can just delete every other frame (or something like that) and be able to project at the normal rate. I'm sure Warner Bros. wouldn't have OK'd this if there wasn't a back-up plan.
Eldorion
Eldorion
You're Gonna Carry That Weight

https://purl.org/tolkien

Back to top Go down

Post by Saradoc Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:53 pm